Meet Flipper

If it has Pedals...
Paul Lafountaine

Meet Flipper

Post by Paul Lafountaine »

Over the past few months, I have been working on rebuilding a pedal steel that was built by a person who appears to have had a love for the pedal steel guitar. This is a one off and I hope I do it justice. I am assuming this was built in the 60's judging by the hardware. The end plates, key head and changer head seem to be cast out of aluminum. The key head has J-bo engraved and I just want to thank J-bo for this gift and once again I hope I did this old guitar justice.

Here are a few before and after pictures as I have been working on this sweetheart. I would like to thank Bent and Burt for all their help as I worked on this rebuild. Bent provided me with a lot of advise and personal support and Burt figured out how the changer works. Thank you all, it is very much appreciated. Please remember this is my first attempt at working on a pedal steel, so be gentle.

I am missing a few parts and am working an alternative ideas to replace them.

More pictures to fallow as I can only attach 3 at a time.

Paul
Attachments
Cabinet Finished 1.jpg
Cabinet Finished 1.jpg (135.35 KiB) Viewed 2178 times
Cab B4 2.jpg
Cab B4 2.jpg (47.18 KiB) Viewed 2178 times
Can Be4 1.jpg
Can Be4 1.jpg (85.15 KiB) Viewed 2178 times
Paul Lafountaine

Re: Meet Flipper

Here is another picture of the cabinet completed.

Paul
Attachments
Cabinet Finished 2.jpg
Cabinet Finished 2.jpg (130.82 KiB) Viewed 2175 times
Paul Lafountaine

A little story about this guitar. When I purchased it the fellow I bought it from affectionately referred to it as the ole' gal, so that became her name. I was showing Bent some pictures and I referred to the parts that the rods pass through as flappers. Bent said that they are not flappers, but Flippers. Now, it has been rebranded as Flipper. I love the name! Thanks Bent.

Paul
richard37066

Post by richard37066 »

Paul -