Looking for Some Help

If it has Pedals...
Paul Lafountaine

Looking for Some Help

Post by Paul Lafountaine »

Hi Guys, I am looking for info to build a changer. I need some info on building changer fingers. I would like dimensions and drawings if possible. Thanks,

Paul
Bent

Re: Looking for Some Help

Post by Bent »

Paul, you might have a hard time getting plans and drawings for a changer. I think that is because the few of us that have actually made our own changer just flew by the seat of our pants and actually didn't make any drawings with actual measurements. I know I didn't. I studied pics of changers and actual changers in the flesh. One helpful aid is to go on the patent sites.
After my studying changers, I drew up a whole steel guitar in profile on a large white Bristol board. This was helpful.
I will however help you all I can to get you making a changer of your own. I will send you pics of a changer finger assembly so you have something to go on. We can stay in touch on email (or here if you prefer) when questions crop up as you go along.

As an aside...is your location far from London? If fairly close, it would be very enriching for you to come and spend a day with me to see first hand how I make them.

We got Wayne Loucks going on his changer and he is doing great. No reason why we couldn't do the same for you.
http://benrom.com/
21 BenRom pedal steel guitars, a Nash 112 and a 1967 TOS Milling machine with many cutters making one hell of a mess on the floor.
Paul Lafountaine

Thanks Bent, I appreciate the offer of help and your response. If I lived closer I would take you up on your offer to spend the day. I'm sure I would learn much more and faster than all the reading can provide. I was looking at the pictures of the brass changer finger you made and hope you could provide some rough measurements off of that, just to kinda get me going. I'm curious about the thickness of the material you are using as well.