Changer Finger Design

If it has Pedals...
dgalloway

Changer Finger Design

Post by dgalloway »

I am a newbie and this is my first attempt at trying to make a changer or any steel guitar part as far as that goes. I am going to attempt to post some pics of my layout. I am using 6061 alum for the string cam and 16 gauge weld steel for the raise and lower fingers. The axle size is 1/2 inch stainless and the top of strings to the top of the body will be 1 1/2 inches with the top being full 3/4 inch walnut which will leave 2 3/4 inches hanging below the top. I have a total width of 10/32" and hope to use a 1/32" nylon spacer between the fingers to give me 11/32" string spacing. My pull rod holes will be 5/32" spaced 5/16" using 3/32" stainless rod, tripple raise and lower. Would like some feed back if anyone feels this design will work or what improvements I should make. I only have a small drill press and 1 inch belt sander and various hand tools so I really don't won't to make 10 fingers that don't stand a chance of working. All comments are appreciated. Thanks.
Dave Galloway
Overland Park, KS
img008 (640x489).jpg
img008 (640x489).jpg (187.31 KiB) Viewed 3375 times
img009 (374x500).jpg
img009 (374x500).jpg (65 KiB) Viewed 3375 times
img010 (234x400).jpg
img010 (234x400).jpg (47.28 KiB) Viewed 3375 times
Zum StageOne, Peavey Session 400, Fender Tele, CyberDeluxe,
Bent

Re: Changer Finger Design

Post by Bent »

Dave, That looks pretty durn good for the first time!
I would like to suggest a couple of things: Instead of the large radius you have on the string finger, I suggest you just make it a straight slant...from widest at top to narrowest at bottom. I believe this give you just a touch more finger throw where you need it the most - on the lower.
donefings.jpg
donefings.jpg (49.67 KiB) Viewed 3372 times