thinking about a new build.

If it has Pedals...
azureskys

thinking about a new build.

Post by azureskys »

Having never seen one I am thinking about a 12 stringer pedal steel , might be a lot of strings but might be a great challenge too , does anyone know much about them? any ideas ? What would be a good setup ? Russ :)
Jason Lynch

Re: thinking about a new build.

Post by Jason Lynch »

Contact Will Cowell, who frequents this site, Bluesteeel,i think his user name is. He plays a 12 string universal Williams.
Bill Ford

Post by Bill Ford »

Here's one I've been playing since 2001.Always played a 12 string ext E9.
Attachments
#3.jpg
#3.jpg (67.65 KiB) Viewed 2752 times
Bill Ford
Steeling For Jesus now
S12,CLR..S12MSA"The Universal" both Ext,E9..misc amps and toys.
Jif

Post by Jif »

Hi azureskys, I play a 12 string Carter Universal. I'm going to assume that you don't know much about them, so bear with me if I'm preaching to the converted!

Generally you can use them with either an extended E9 tuning or with a Universal tuning. Mine is tuned Universal and I haven't changed from the factory setup which can be seen here,

https://www.steelguitar.com/sampleS12Tuning.html

The concept of the Universal tuning is that you can use it in either E9 mode or B6 (the equivalent of the C6 neck on a dual neck). To go into B6 mode requires the E-Eb lever to be kept activated either by knee or lever lock. The usual D at string 9 on a 10 string is omitted to allow the lower strings to go down to a low B, I can still get the D through use of a pedal or lever.

Mine has the usual E9 pedal and lever changes and an additional 4 pedals which function identically to 4 pedals on a C6 neck, one C6 pedal is omitted but I believe you can get the same change from another pedal/lever combination. So, I have 7 pedals and 5 knee levers.