Cheap, easy DIY changer idea

Just getting started and have a lot of questions? Here's the spot...
guitarheel

Cheap, easy DIY changer idea

Post by guitarheel »

Hello everyone.

I have been playing guitar for 25+ years and I have been considering building my first steel for
awhile now, but the biggest hurdle I have with regard to "scratch construction" (as I'm sure other first time builders do too) is the changer. I had considered copying a design and having it done with CNC, but this can get expensive. So I started thinking of other things that A) are more readily available, and B) would require MINIMAL machining and/or cutting.

I came up with this. NOT TO SCALE, and please excuse the crude nature of this diagram!

I chose the 10mm here simply to illustrate, but I believe the 10mm size would be perfect for this application. The wrenches would need to be totally flat, with no angled heads.

I'm sure the cut in the middle would need to be modified somewhat to allow for proper travel of the lower finger.

The only thing I wonder about is the string notch on top of the rounded part of the wrench, and how to cut it out, polish it, etc.

Keep in mind that I have no steel building or machining experience. I came up with this potential design just by looking at pictures. I'm not even sure what type of changer this would be.

The main thing here is that these wrenches can be bought at just about any auto parts store, and they can be modified with tools that can ALSO be purchased there, too.

So I guess what I'm asking is - would this actually work? Like I said I have no builder experience whatsoever. This was just an idea I had in my head.
Rick Dillon

Re: Cheap, easy DIY changer idea

Post by Rick Dillon »