Making a start

Solid Body Steels, Reso, Weissenborn...
Jif

Making a start

Post by Jif »

Well I've had a Flu / Cold since before Xmas, so haven't made a lot of progress on my Lap build. I have started doing a bit of design using FreeCad and I think I know roughly what I want to achieve, which is an 8 string Fender style guitar with legs. I'm thinking of using 2 pieces of Black Walnut giving a total depth of either 1.5" or 2.5", with a maple fretboard.

I have very little experience of doing this sort of thing, so I'm just going to take it slow and hopefully not make too many mistakes. I've started de-fretting a bass I've had for some time and this is getting me into the way of working on instruments.

Been looking at making my own pickups, I've had a few ideas on designing a Alumnitone style pickup that I'd like to experiment with. What I'd really like is a two pickup system, one a pencil style, the other an individual pole style. If anyone has any suppliers for pickup parts (8 string) I'd be grateful for the info.

I'll probably start in earnest once the weather gets a bit warmer, I work in my attic and it's currently freezing, until then will be mostly working on a plan.

I bought an Anderwood Big Island Weissenborn for my Christmas and have been having great fun with it. If anyone is interested I put a video up on YouTube of my rough attempt at Ed Gerhards arrangement of Rye Whisky. I recorded this using a small Sony stereo mike plugged into my Sony Cam.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSWeWVle-5o
azureskys

Re: Making a start

Post by azureskys »

Hi jif , youtube sounded pretty good .
maxi19

Post by maxi19 »

Good morning Jif,

watched your u-tube it sounded good.

Ron Mc
Jif

Post by Jif »

Thanks guys, I'm beginning to get the hang of it. I love the sound the Weissenborn gives, hadn't come across them until recently, I can't put it down at the moment :P
mark63uni

Post by mark63uni »

Nicely done, looking forward to seeing the build!
Jif

Post by Jif »