My First, But Not Last

Solid Body Steels, Reso, Weissenborn...
Paul Lafountaine

My First, But Not Last

Post by Paul Lafountaine »

OK guys don't laugh to hard eh! This is my first build and it was done with a minimum of materials and tools. I choose a 23.5" scale and 8 strings. The body is made of a chunk of fir, the fretboard is poplar, and the bridge and nut were made out of some pieces of aluminum I had lying around. The pickups came off of an old electric guitar I had and I staggered them for the 8 strings. The only items I purchased were the tuners and strings. The pickups are wired directly to the output as I did not use a volume and tone control till I could see how it sounds.

I am quite pleased with the sound. I had a bit of a tinny wound on the second string, but after cleaning up the groves on the nut and bridge it seems to have cleared up. The sustain is really good and seems to go on forever.

I intend to wait until the weather is warmer and I can get into my shed were I have access to more tools and a work bench. I must admit the pool table in the wreck room didn't work to bad though.

Here are a few pictures. If the fretboard and pickups look a little crocked they are. I have not mounted the solidly as I still have some finish to do.
Attachments
phpatv5y1AM.jpg
phpatv5y1AM.jpg (46.2 KiB) Viewed 2824 times
php6jOePeAM.jpg
php6jOePeAM.jpg (47.94 KiB) Viewed 2824 times
phpxMu01ZAM.jpg
phpxMu01ZAM.jpg (54.74 KiB) Viewed 2824 times
azureskys

Re: My First, But Not Last

Post by azureskys »

Congradulations on your first , i think it looks great , keep up the good work . Russ
Paul Lafountaine

Thanks for the kind words Russ. If it wasn't winter time I think I could have done better with access to a few more tools. I was really getting anxious to do something. I'm surprised, it actually sounds better than I thought for something quickly slapped together.
Dave-M

Post by Dave-M »

Nice job, Paul. What tuning are you using?