Lap steel project

Solid Body Steels, Reso, Weissenborn...
Starsailor

Lap steel project

Post by Starsailor »

Hi everyone!

I’m new to this forum and to the lap steel as well. I’ve been playing guitar for 15 years, but it would be interesting to try out something different. I have a couple of guitar related projects going on so I thought that maybe I could build myself a lap steel at the same time.
I will make my own design, but when it comes to sound, my main inspiration is the National New Yorker, and foremost the models from the thirties with one visible and two concealed pickups. I’m not going to search for obsolete authentic special parts though; instead I will use what I can find on the net. Anyhow, before I start purchasing parts for this project I have some questions that I need to straighten out. I would much appreciate if you could help me with some input!

1. What scale length is the National New Yorker? 22,5”?, 23”?

2. The more versatile sound – the better and with three pickups combined with a 5-way rotary switch there will be plenty of possibilities. But if I have to pick just one sound character for my upcoming steel, this Is what I’m looking for:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFOwsAGA ... re=related sounds absolutely beautiful!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbYVtmIJBVE (In harp mode only)

a) The question is: What combination of pickups should I use to get as close to these sounds as possible? Humbucking?, strat?, tele?, P90?, soap bar?, lipstick?

b) What about output and resistance of the pickups?

c) Does anyone know how the New Yorker is wired in the harp mode?

d) What positions is then preferable for each pickup type?

e) Where are the best positions for the concealed pickups? For instance, does one of the concealed pickups need to be placed right under 24th “fret”?