My First attempt at air brushing a sunburst

Finishing methods and saftey, inlay...
sheffield steel

My First attempt at air brushing a sunburst

Post by sheffield steel »

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at air brushing, I've had this idea of the colour that I wanted to do for about 4 years. Last Christmas my wife bought me an air brush kit and this is my first go. I call it Carribean sea burst, this is just the stain with 1 coat of lacquer on just to seal it, I've got to lacquer it as yet. This will be my D10 when it is finished, this is because the quilted maple that I got was a one off, the guy at the wood store said that in all his years he had never seen such a beautiful piece of wood. I do hope that you like it.

Dave. :geek:
Attachments
Caribean Steel 020 - Copy (640x206).jpg
Caribean Steel 020 - Copy (640x206).jpg (125.8 KiB) Viewed 9545 times
Caribean Steel 013 - Copy (640x446) (639x410).jpg
Caribean Steel 013 - Copy (640x446) (639x410).jpg (211.48 KiB) Viewed 9547 times
Caribean Steel 003 - Copy (640x153).jpg
Caribean Steel 003 - Copy (640x153).jpg (94.58 KiB) Viewed 9548 times
Sheffield D10 9+8, Bradshaw WEBB 614-E, Sheffield stainless steel tone bars, Hilton electronic volume pedal, Pro-Fex 2, BOSS DD3
Bent

Re: My First attempt at air brushing a sunburst

Post by Bent »

Like??? Dave I love it. Just like everything you lay your hands on this, too, turns into a work of art. You got that quilting to jump out of the wood and created the 3D effect. Absolute eye candy. I see I have a ways to go...
http://benrom.com/
21 BenRom pedal steel guitars, a Nash 112 and a 1967 TOS Milling machine with many cutters making one hell of a mess on the floor.
richard37066

Post by richard37066 »

Dave -

Reminds me of MSA's "Carribean Blue". Have loved it since they first brought it out. The end result should be a stunner!

The quilted maple shows off the color better than any other.

Richard
steve geary

Post by steve geary »

VERY, VERY NICE....... Stunning...