Stain

Finishing methods and saftey, inlay...
George Price

Stain

Post by George Price »

Need some help how to stain a cabinet and what to use and what not to use.

In short.............HELP!!. I've never done this before and I'm stuck.
Bent

Re: Stain

Post by Bent »

George,
A totally non-hide stain is used a lot. I think alcohol base stain is the best. I have tried water base stain (this includes aniline dye) and will not recommend it. It very easily turns out blotchy. It also raises the grain. If you look back in the postings you will see that one good suggestion is the leather dye. Also, Stew-Mac has a variety of alc. based stains for sale.
http://benrom.com/
21 BenRom pedal steel guitars, a Nash 112 and a 1967 TOS Milling machine with many cutters making one hell of a mess on the floor.
azureskys

Post by azureskys »

you got that right Bent , dont use a water base stain it ll raise the grain . Russ
Jim Smith

Post by Jim Smith »

We used leather dye at Dekley, and I don't know of any that faded.
Jim Smith
-=Dekley D-12 10&12=-
-=Emmons D-12 push pull 9&9=-
Stereo Steel rig w/Boss GX-700
IVL SteelRider w/JV-1080
Bent

Post by Bent »

I love it when the really experienced guys tune in, like Jim here. Then it's kinda like ok take that one to the bank. Nuff said.
21 BenRom pedal steel guitars, a Nash 112 and a 1967 TOS Milling machine with many cutters making one hell of a mess on the floor.
Bill Ford

Post by Bill Ford »