machining book?

Tools, shop setup, jigs...
Steve W

machining book?

Post by Steve W »

Can anyone suggest a good book for learning some basic metalwork skills?

Steve
michaelm

Lindsay Books

Post by michaelm »

Lindsay's Technical Books has got a lot of just that:

http://www.lindsaybks.com/

Lindsay specializes in reprinting good references on older technologies. He also carries some current titles. I've been buying books from him since at least 1980, maybe longer. You didn't mention any specific area of interest, but I've gotten good books from him on just about everything under the sun. Check it out. HTH.
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice, there is.
Bent

Re: machining book?

Post by Bent »

We can't do without books on any subject we want to learn about.
Let's not forget the internet as a learning tool as well. Since I am getting a milling machine and know next to nothing about it, I checked on youtube and found this Crash course: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U99asuDT97I
8 installments. Some might say it's more advertising than teaching but they do show the basics of cutter selection, clamping, safety. Worth looking at.
Another site just chanced upon now, shows promise: http://electron.mit.edu/~gsteele/mirror ... tro.html#5
That one's worth checking out.

Now that I'm in between projects, maybe I will take a trip downtown to the library one day and look up some good books there. I'll report back to y'all.
Remember: the library's free :idea:
http://benrom.com/
21 BenRom pedal steel guitars, a Nash 112 and a 1967 TOS Milling machine with many cutters making one hell of a mess on the floor.
Bent

Post by Bent »

I went to the library today to look for a book on machining. I was rather surprised to see that the supply of such books is not plentiful at all! After spending an hour looking and choosing, I came up with one bok that I borrowed and can recommend to you.