Pickup construction

Pickups, Diy Electronics, Stompboxes, Guitar wiring...
bobby burns

Pickup construction

Post by bobby burns »

Do any of you make your own pickups?
Bent

Re: Pickup construction

Post by Bent »

Bobby, I haven't as of yet. I'd like to learn how though. also where to acquire the materials needed...the magnets for one thing.

I'd be very happy if you'd give us a crash course :P
http://benrom.com/
21 BenRom pedal steel guitars, a Nash 112 and a 1967 TOS Milling machine with many cutters making one hell of a mess on the floor.
bobby burns

Post by bobby burns »

I have made a very few pickups. I have rewound several, but I am far from an expert at it. I was just wondering if there was anyone hanging out here that might know more about it than I do.
PELEKONA

Post by PELEKONA »

Stewart Mc Donald has all the parts required to make your own pickup.these people have a large selection of everything the guitar builder needs,
They are good to deal with and have a good mail order catalogue available on request.
Regards,PELEKONA.
Allan

Post by Allan »

I am slightly interested in trying this too. I did wind a single pole pickup once. A single pole you say? It was an experiment. I have an idea that part of the classic Strat sound comes from the vibration of the trem springs so I tried to make a Strat more Strat-ish by putting a pickup on the spring. It worked after a fashion but I never finished the project because it seemed way too hard to mount the thing. I didn't have routers and those kinds of power tools in those days. Possibly some day, if I have time.

Regards, Allan.....
Only nuts eat squirrels.
Keep yer tools sharp! That way you can use more of your strength guiding them AWAY from your body rather than forcing the cut!!!
Bent

Post by Bent »

I have been thinking about trying my hand at this.
Got some questions for you, Bobby, since you done this before.
If you would go to this site:
http://www.magnetsales.com/Alnico/Alrods.htm